Author Topic: Way for Users to Help?  (Read 1651 times)

komidore64

Way for Users to Help?
« on: May 04, 2015, 01:37:17 pm »
Hello!

I just recently signed up for VGCollect and I am really liking the site. You've really got something useful going here. Very nice job!

I'm writing to ask if there are ways that I can help in the development of VGCollect. Being an open-source developer, I love the aspect of being able to immediately start pitching in to help with a tool or a web-service. I'm sure you've probably considered at one point or another to open-source VGCollect and maybe also its Android app. I would very much like for VGCollect to be open-source as I'm passionate about F/OSS, but I don't want to push VGCollect towards something its developers/owners don't want.

Instead, I'd like to see if I could find out your reasons for or against an open-source license for VGCollect; just a dialogue. I want to find a way to help VGCollect become a better tool both for myself and others. Helping could be with code or something else.

I develop on lots of open-source tools every day for work, but I'm still looking for a project that I can contribute to completely out of leisure with no ties to what I do at work -- a project that I can get excited about and have fun with. I would very much like for VGCollect to be that project. Open-source would be a plus, but it doesn't have to be.

Thanks for reading!

Re: Way for Users to Help?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 03:38:57 pm »
Message this dude:
     http://vgcollect.com/matt

fighterpilot562

PRO Supporter

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2015, 03:41:38 pm »
Awesome offer, ya, hit up Matt.
VGCs Unofficial Podcast! Be sure to sub and listen in.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTyhaE8LSCmQN7fiHxHjyWg

Add Me: fighterpilot562 (PSN, XBL, WiiU, Steam, Origin, Steam, Twitch)

1049-2600-8730

disgaeniac

PRO Supporter

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2015, 11:03:43 am »
Welcome to the site komodore64 & thanks for the generous offer!