Author Topic: Digital platforms for PC gaming  (Read 697 times)

xploitocelot

Digital platforms for PC gaming
« on: December 05, 2015, 01:05:01 pm »
Hey guys, when are we giving the welcome to Origin and Uplay? Steam and Gog.com are not everything! :)

Re: Digital platforms for PC gaming
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 02:37:22 pm »
Very good point! There's Impulse too.  8)

karyann

« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 06:35:37 pm »
Just to set the context: I'm no PC expert, so I'm not putting my vote in, merely gathering statements to help the decision-making :)

This had been previously discussed by Foxhack, who was our PC expert. His answer is old, though (dated 2012), and things change a lot in that kind of time span. However, he had a valid point, so I think it's good to think about it once more.

I know most people hate it, but since most new EA PC games are Origin only would it be possible to add Origin as a platform?
Not quite...

We have a catch-all PC / Digital Download category in which we've been adding games. Steam has its own platform because of the insane amount of games it has, and sometimes, they have exclusive content.

Most of the time, digitally distributed games are exactly the same across all stores. The only difference is the storefront. So digital games go in that category. If the item has exclusive content - like the stuff from GOG, then you add it with the store name in parenthesis. But if it really doesn't... well, you just add it like a normal game. Take for example, Crysis 2.

http://vgcollect.com/item/29594

I added a generic entry, but when I added it to my collection, I typed "EA Origin download version" in my personal notes. This is the same game that's available at lots of other places, but since I got it at Origin, I mentioned that in my notes.

Also, we don't have a specific Games for Windows Live category either. Origin and GFWL (much more than Origin) are more game DRM than actual platform.