Author Topic: Is DLC for the Switch region locked?  (Read 1338 times)

Is DLC for the Switch region locked?
« on: February 05, 2019, 06:15:57 pm »
I'm new to the Switch and have searched the web for info on whether DLC for the Switch is region locked (as is the case for PS4 and XB1 DLC) or not. Everyone and their mother seem to have an opinion on the matter but I've yet to come across a somewhat straight answer.

I have a European Switch account and since I'll likely be importing quite a few North American releases I'm curious if I will be able to use DLC downloaded via my EU account with these.
I realize that localization could be an issue with some Asian releases.

I also realize that creating different accounts for different regions could be a workaround but I prefer having just one account if possible. Also, since matching credit cards for the different regions are required I believe the only payment alternative is store credit bought from Amazon, Play-Asia, etc, which I personally think is too much of a hassle.
Not that I will be buying much DLC anyway, but often some sort of DLC code is included with physical releases (even though we all know they should be on the cartridge to begin with), and those I want to be able to redeem if possible.

Any thoughts/facts/suggestions/etc.? :)

aliensstudios

Re: Is DLC for the Switch region locked?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2019, 12:23:32 pm »
I think it all really depends on the game. I know for sure some DLC is locked to the eShop region of the game but thankfully you can change your eShop region by changing your Nintendo Account country. Just make sure to spend any stored funds in the eShop before you change regions because the amount won't be carried over to the new eShop region.

I'm curious, what games do we have in North America worth importing that you don't have in Europe?
"I collect vidya games and vidya game accessories, I tell you what."

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2019, 01:16:04 pm »