Author Topic: Sega Saturn vs Neo Geo CD vs Turbo Grafx 16?  (Read 3243 times)

Sega Saturn vs Neo Geo CD vs Turbo Grafx 16?
« on: April 11, 2017, 07:55:19 pm »
Which of these 3 consoles would you say is the best for someone who is new to collecting for these? :)

I plan on buying a new obscure console that i have never tried before.  I think i am leaning towards Sega Saturn more because of it's library and because it's a beloved Sega console. And i have someone who has a spare willing to trade me it.  but i am not very knowledgable of these 3 systems.   I really want something that i am unfamiliar with to experience a new console of gaming and open new doors and have more titles to play.   Something i didn't have as a kid but something that is a must try. :)

All 3 have fairly expensive games but it seems like TG16 is extremely expensive when compared to the other two.  But i am willing to save up if it is truly worth it.   Is it only good for top down shooters?  Or does it have diversity and variety?

Is Sonic R good for SS?  It is a title that is really speaking to me and making me want SS.   Does SS have great platformers and action adventure games?

Which has better graphics SS or Neo Geo CD?  :D

Thanks for any help :)

maximo310

Re: Sega Saturn vs Neo Geo CD vs Turbo Grafx 16?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 08:27:41 pm »
If you have loads of money, Sega Saturn. The library ( including imports) is pretty robust, and covers arcade ports just as well or even better than the other two systems.

But for new collectors, neither of these three are a good choice. PS2 is probably much better than those based on library and cost alone.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2017, 03:25:54 am by maximo310 »

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2017, 08:55:28 pm »
In this order
Saturn
Turbo Grafix 16
Neo Geo CD
But none of these are east to collect for or cheap

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2017, 10:40:04 pm »
Sega Saturn hands down. The other two can't even compete.

kashell