Author Topic: Finally caving in to 4k gaming. Has anyone decided to go 4k yet?  (Read 2246 times)

ferraroso

Re: Finally caving in to 4k gaming. Has anyone decided to go 4k yet?
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2018, 10:07:46 pm »
I've been using a 50" Sharp LC-50U45 for the last four months or so and, although I don't own any 4K compatible console, I'm pretty satisfied with its quality of sound and image. Recommended.

dashv

PRO Supporter

« Reply #16 on: June 20, 2018, 02:37:02 am »
Today was a happy day everyone :).   I ordered a Xbox One X and it came in and I managed to save up enough to get a 4k TV which is on it's way.   It was a lot of selling and I let go of some things.  But it was worth it :D.

I hope everyone has an great day and thank you for all the awesome answers.

Did you get a 4K TV with HDR? :)

It's a Samsung MU6290 :D.  It has HDR and something called essential black pro for deep black colors.  I am really glad it has HDR since you guys say it's much better with it.  It has a lot of neat features.  Is High Dynamic Range for wider color pallet? 

I was shocked with how cheap the 4k TVs have gotten over the years. It really made me want to make the change.  It was 300 dollars shipped for the 40 inch and Samsung is my favorite brand for TVs.  I'm so excited for it to come :)

Yes, you will get better contrast. Richer smoother color gradients and more shades of white and black (in supporting content).

YouTube, VUDU, Netflix, and many games support HDR now.

Some good content to watch is:
Lost In Space (Netflix)
Guardians of the Galaxy vol2
Wonder Woman.

Good HDR games:
Detroit Become Human (PS4)
Recore Definitive Edition (XBoxOne)
Mirrors Edge (Xbox 360 on X1 via BC)
Rise of the Tomb Raider (either)
Quantum Break (X1)

Another nice tv feature is multizone local dimming (essential black on your Samsung might be similar).