Author Topic: Will this downgrade the scart signal  (Read 2264 times)

Will this downgrade the scart signal
« on: January 24, 2014, 03:49:07 pm »
Im new to upscaling retro games to HDTV's. If you use a composite to SCART adapter (shown here: http://tinyurl.com/pem4xay ) into the SCART to HDMI, will the video quality be degraded from going from composite to SCART? Or is it better just to get a SCART cable for each system?

scott

Re: Will this downgrade the scart signal
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 03:52:22 pm »
I have no idea when it comes to playing with video. But welcome to the site and nice username!
Now Playing: Persona 5 Scramble, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Mario Kart 8

Brush Wizard - Mini Painting Blog | The SHMUP: BYOAC Build | Art Thread

sin2beta

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2014, 06:27:32 pm »
There is no point in that. You will just be getting a strangely modified composite signal. I'm going to use the word garbage and I'm not trying to be a snob, it's just the saying. But you will be getting "garbage in garbage out". Converting from composite to scart will do very little. Your composite input will essentially be the output. Not that composite is bad, it just won't change much. And depending on the equipment, could be worse.

Composite cables basically have 3 channels. Video, audio left, audio right. Scart is a general standard. What I mean by that is the cable is standard, but you can have all kinds of video. The cable has 20 pins (channels) that support several video modes. SCART is not necessarily better. This is because there is RGB SCART and composite SCART. RGB SCART is better. But not composite scart is the same as composite. Refer to the diagram below.

A composite to SCART converter will remain three channels. It will use pins 1,3, and 19. This will provide no difference in quality. It is simply a pass through with a different cable.