Author Topic: Conflicted about collecting?  (Read 2034 times)

Conflicted about collecting?
« on: June 29, 2014, 12:15:59 am »
I know that posting a thread like this on a collector forum might seem stupid to some, but some of you must have some conflicted feelings about this hobby, and most of the people here seem to be more mature than on other forums I've tried and might relate to the question.  From time to time I get the idea that my mind would be much less preoccupied with games if I just stopped collecting.  Of course I always write those feelings off as impulsive ways to make a positive change in my life.  As a video editor, I could sell all or many of my games and buy some really nice equipment to use to better myself in my career & as an artist.  Being a creative person, I get a lot of satisfaction from the work I produce, whereas many collectors don't have this and simply won't understand where I'm coming from.  I could spend more time learning software and creating things myself rather than tracking down old games or obsessively looking for underpriced buy it nows on ebay.  I could also use the money I get to improve my family's home, etc.  Maybe moderation is the answer as always, sell half of the collection and buy things to support my new theory and see how it goes.  :-\

Collecting video games is something I've done since I was 12, so I've been doing this for 24 years, which is another thing that makes this hobby difficult to get out of.  I'm just interested if anyone else has had an experience like this and what they did about it.  Thanks!

turf

PRO Supporter

Re: Conflicted about collecting?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2014, 01:27:56 am »
If it doesn't make you happy, don't do it. This is supposed to be a hobby, not an addiction.

If you think your money could be better spent somewhere else, quit buying games. There are more important things in the world than video games.