Author Topic: Will this site be here forever?  (Read 1128 times)

Will this site be here forever?
« on: August 09, 2014, 03:26:13 pm »
Hey just found out about the site, but I'm just curious as to if this will ever shut down or anything like that.  I'm not tech savvy and don't really know how websites work as it is, but I just didn't want to go through and put all my stuff in my collection, then in a couple years have this shut down.  Or is it more of how the google cloud thing is and this is will be here indefinitely?  Just because even if theres only a slight chance it might disappear someday, I'd rather just record my collection as an excel and save it multiple places so I always have it. 

scott

Re: Will this site be here forever?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 03:41:57 pm »
VGC has has been around for 3 years now. We've weathered a horrible server failure near the end of year one. We've had folk stick with us through that and in the time since amassed a community filled with awesome people.

I don't we us going anywhere, any time soon.
Now Playing: Persona 5 Scramble, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Mario Kart 8

Brush Wizard - Mini Painting Blog | The SHMUP: BYOAC Build | Art Thread

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 04:27:51 pm »
Well no one can tell the future. Nothing is "indefinite." If Google were to close its doors tomorrow there wouldn't be a Google Cloud.

VGCollect does have the ability to export your collection to a spread sheet. So even if you don't plan on sticking around you could build up your collection and then save it to your computer.

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2014, 05:25:29 pm »
nothing lasts forever, including our collections and including ourselves, so I wouldn't worry about it and just enjoy the site

dashv

PRO Supporter

« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2014, 11:25:26 pm »
Well no one can tell the future. Nothing is "indefinite." If Google were to close its doors tomorrow there wouldn't be a Google Cloud.