Author Topic: What do you do for living?  (Read 7927 times)

90snostalga

Re: What do you do for living?
« Reply #60 on: February 08, 2014, 12:35:44 pm »
I think that you guys are the only one's on here who know what the heck you are talking about lol.  I know I sure don't.  Sounds like ya'll are speaking another language to me

« Reply #61 on: February 08, 2014, 06:03:20 pm »
I work in AutoCAD as little as possible lol.

I'm in the process of learning AutoCAD.  My work just switched over from an AASHTO backed CAD program that was not exactly an industry standard.  Holy shit is that a massive program.  I've worked in one place since I graduated college 8 years ago, and never had any training in AutoCAD.  I don't even know where to start.
Yup there isn't a single thing about autoCAD that's intuitive. At least there's the ribbon on the newer versions where you can find most any command you're looking for. Before that everything was basically command based -_-. I'd point you in a direction to learn, but I realized everything I know came from trying to figure out a specific problem lol.

If you do a lot of floor plans, where you'd reuse the same base plan for them, look into xrefs. They're totally helpful for keeping consistent among plans.

i dont use the ribbon. i use shortcut keys. L for line C for Circle etc
That's definitely the most efficient way to CAD for sure. But for someone just starting to learn the program, it's a lot to take in.

Thats how I was taught. I had to do 1 year on the shop floor first. Then 1 year on the drawing boards. Then CAD

dstone

PRO Supporter

« Reply #62 on: February 09, 2014, 12:39:17 pm »